The museum today

museum

The Zoological Museum Kiel, as a university institution, is in an area of tension between research, education and publicity. The most important foundation of this museum is its extensive collections. They represent archives of life and are made available to researchers worldwide via modern collection magazines and online databases – as well as their historical archives and books.
As part of the Zoological Institute of the CAU, the museum with its collections is integrated into the Bachelor and Master degree course. Additionally, the museum offers special qualification – starting with museum-specific research internships to dissertations.
The exhibitions impart modern insights from marine research, zoology and evolution based on the historical collections. At the heart are always the valuable original preparations. The fascination for the object is just as important as the information.

Additional information

Das Museum heute

museum

Das Zoologische Museum Kiel steht als Universitätseinrichtung heute im Spannungsfeld zwischen Forschung, Lehre und Öffentlichkeit. Wichtigste Grundlage des Museums sind die umfangreichen Sammlungen. Sie stellen Archive des Lebens dar und werden über moderne Sammlungsmagazine und Online-Datenbanken weltweit der Wissenschaft zur Verfügung gestellt – ebenso seine historischen Archive und Buchbestände.
Als Teil des Zoologischen Institutes der CAU ist das Museum mit seinen Sammlungen in die regulären Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge eingebunden. Zusätzlich bietet das Museum spezielle Qualifikationen an – von museums-spezifischen Forschungspraktika bis hin zu Examensarbeiten.
Die Ausstellungen vermitteln moderne Erkenntnisse aus Meeresforschung, Zoologie und Evolution auf der Basis der historischen Sammlungen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen immer die wertvollen Originalpräparate. Dabei ist die Faszination des Objektes genauso wichtig wie die Information.

Zusätzliche Informationen